Welcome!

Students studying Wirtschaftsinformatik (which roughly translates to Business Information Systems) at the University of Duisburg-Essen do so in an environment ideally suited to progressing their studies. The high number of associated research chairs means a broad range of subjects are offered, both to bachelor’s degree students and students of the bilingual master’s programme. At the same time, students can cover a broad set of research topics including both foundational research questions and practitioner projects. The latter offer the opportunity to develop and test innovative solutions in cooperation with renowned companies. Internationally, the Wirtschaftsinformatik courses at Essen enjoy a good reputation and students there will be connected with more than 20 other Universities via the international network IS:Link.

What is Wirtschaftsinformatik about?

Situated between the disciplines of Economics and Computer Science, the Wirtschaftsinformatik discipline strives to support the digital transformation that organizations face today by conceptualizing and developing innovative technologies.

> more about "Wirtschaftsinformatik"

Why study in Essen?

With its numerous professorships in Wirtschaftsinformatik, Business Administration and Computer Science, the University of Duisburg-Essen can deliver a broad range of interesting topics. Furthermore, the city of Essen provides great opportunities for leisure and is home to many international companies.

> more about "Study in Essen"

Herzlich Willkommen

Die Wirtschaftsinformatik an der Universität Duisburg-Essen bietet Studierenden hervorragende Voraussetzungen für ein anregendes und gewinnbringendes Studium. Die große Zahl an Lehrstühlen ermöglicht ein breites Lehrangebot, das den Studierenden sowohl im Bachelor-Studiengang als auch im bilingualen Master-Studiengang vielfältige Wahlmöglichkeiten bietet. Gleichzeitig wird ein breites Spektrum an Forschungsthemen abgedeckt. Es umfasst sowohl grundlegende Forschungsfragen als auch Projekte mit namhaften Unternehmen, die auf die Entwicklung und Erprobung innovativer Lösungen gerichtet sind. Die Wirtschaftsinformatik in Essen hat international eine sehr gute Reputation und ist mit mehr als 20 Universitäten weltweit im Austauschnetzwerk IS:link verbunden.

Was ist Wirtschaftsinformatik?

Die Disziplin der Wirtschaftsinformatik befasst sich mit der betrieblichen Informationsverarbeitung. Sie untersucht dabei u. a. wie man mit den Möglichkeiten der Informatik die Abläufe in Unternehmen unterstützen und verbessern kann.

> mehr zu "Wirtschaftsinformatik"

Warum der Standort Essen?

Durch zahlreiche Professuren in der Wirtschaftsinformatik, der BWL und der Informatik kann eine Vielzahl interessanter Themen an der Universität Duisburg-Essen angeboten werden. Darüber hinaus bietet Essen zahlreiche Möglichkeiten zur Freizeitgestaltung sowie international erfolgreiche Unternehmen.

> mehr zu "Studium am Standort Essen"